Jump directly to main navigation Jump directly to content Jump to sub navigation

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee advises the Foundation Council and the Executive Board on fundamental professional and interdisciplinary questions of the scientific and technical work programme and national and international cooperations. Six to eight internationally respected external researchers in professional life shall be appointed as members, if necessary also other experts in the Foundation's field of research who are distinguished by special scientific knowledge that is of importance for the fulfilment of the Foundation's purpose.

Current members of the Scientific Advisory Committee:

  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Quirrenbach (Chair)
    Heidelberg-Königstuhl State Observatory,
    University of Heidelberg, Germany
  • Prof. Dr. Lyndsay Fletcher (Deputy)
    School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Glasgow, UK
  • Prof. Dr. Wenda Cao
    New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT), Newark,
    Big Bear Solar Observatory (BBSO), Big Bear City, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Manuel Collados
    Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias, La Laguna, Tenerife, Spain
  • Prof. Dr. Lidia van Driel-Gesztelyi
    Mullard Space Science Laboratory, Holmbury St. Mary, UK
  • Dr. Holly Gilbert
    High Altitude Observatory, Boulder, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Christiane Helling
    Space Research Institute (IWF), Austrian Academy of Science (ÖAW), 
    Institute for Theoretical Physics,  Graz University of Technology, Austria