Welcome to the Institute for Solar Physics (KIS)

The Institute for Solar Physics (KIS), conducts basic research in astronomy and astrophysics with a particular focus on solar physics. The institute's structure and operation are based on three strategic pillars: 1) fundamental research, 2) operation of the German solar telescope infrastructure on Tenerife, and 3) research in data science and operation of the Science Data Center. The institute's professors and docents, who qualify as lecturers and who have been appointed by Freiburg University, offer lectures at various degree levels and train young scientists.

The vision of KIS is to extend its leadership in solar physics and solar-stellar connections in Europe and worldwide by deepening the understanding of the Sun and developing new astrophysical applications and instruments.

In line with the KIS mission, work at the Institute will advance scientific knowledge of the Sun, stars, and their space environments by developing state-of-the-art theories and instrumentation for the largest ground-based solar telescopes at the frontier of what is scientifically and technically feasible, and by providing access to these developments to the European and global solar physics community. A wealth of science-ready data will be generated and interpreted through observations performed on ground-based solar telescopes and their instruments together with advanced data analysis methods and pipelines developed at KIS or opened up for scientific use. The research field worked on at KIS, which is important for the understanding of the effect of solar activity on space weather and thus on Earth, is to be brought closer to the young generation of researchers as well as to the interested public.

News

An image of the Daniel K. Inouye Solar Telescope together with the VTF Etalon.

World's largest imaging spectro-polarimeter arrived on Maui.

Top

The Institute of Solar Physics (KIS) in Freiburg develops high-tech research instruments that are unique in…

Read More

First Stokes inversions in full agreement with Gauß law

Top

Scientists at KIS infer the first solenoidal magnetic field on the solar atmosphere

Read More
The VTF frame in the otics laboratory at the DKIST telescope.

VTF integration started at DKIST on Maui/Hawaii (early January 2024)

Top

At the beginning of 2024, the VTF team was able to fly to Maui/Hawaii and start integrating the VTF into the…

Read More

Willkommen beim Institut für Sonnenphysik (KIS)

Das Institut für Sonnenphysik (KIS), betreibt Grundlagenforschung in der Astronomie und Astrophysik mit einem besonderem Schwerpunkt Sonnenphysik. Die Struktur und der Betrieb des Instituts basieren auf drei strategischen Säulen: 1) Grundlagenforschung, 2) Betrieb der deutschen Sonnenteleskop-Infrastruktur auf Teneriffa sowie 3) angewandte Forschung in der Datenwissenschaft und Betrieb des Science Data Centre. An der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg berufene und habilitierte Professor*innen des Instituts bieten Lehrveranstaltungen auf verschiedenen Studienstufen an und bilden den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs aus.

Die Vision des KIS besteht darin, seine Führungsrolle in der Sonnenphysik und bei solar-stellaren Verbindungen in Europa und weltweit auszubauen, indem das Verständnis der Sonne vertieft und neue astrophysikalische Anwendungen und Instrumente entwickelt werden.

Gemäß der Mission des KIS sollen die Arbeiten am Institut die wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse über die Sonne, Sterne und ihre Weltraumumgebungen voranbringen, indem modernste Theorien und Instrumentierung für die größten bodengebundenen Sonnenteleskope an der Grenze des wissenschaftlich und technisch Machbaren entwickelt werden und der europäischen und weltweiten Solarphysik-Community der Zugang zu diesen Entwicklungen offen steht. Durch an bodengestützten Sonnenteleskopen und deren Instrumenten durchgeführte Beobachtungen zusammen mit am KIS entwickelten bzw. für die wissenschaftliche Nutzung erschlossenen fortschrittlichen Datenanalysemethoden und Pipelines sollen eine Fülle von wissenschaftsreifen Daten generiert und interpretiert werden. Das am KIS bearbeitete, für das Verständnis der Auswirkung der Sonnenaktivität auf das Weltraumwetter und damit die Erde wichtige Forschungsfeld, soll sowohl der jungen Generation von Forschenden als auch der interessierten Öffentlichkeit nahe gebracht werden.

Neuigkeiten

Die Gondel von SUNRISE III an ihrem Ballon kurz vor dem Abheben.

SUNRISE III gestartet

Top

Das ballongetragene 1-Meter-Sonnenteleskop SUNRISE III hat am 10. Juli 2024 seinen dritten Flug angetreten.

Mehr Lesen

PhD position in solar physics (m/f/d)

Top

The Institute of Solar Physics (KIS), Freiburg, Germany, invites applications for a part-time PhD position…

Mehr Lesen

Postdoctoral position (m/f/d)

Top

The Institute for Solar Physics (KIS), Freiburg, Germany, invites applications for a full-time postdoctoral…

Mehr Lesen