Kiepenheuer Institute for Solar Physics

The Kiepenheuer Institute for Solar Physics (KIS) conducts experimental and theoretical investigations of physical processes on and within the Sun. Its headquarter is in Freiburg, Germany. The KIS operates the german solar telescopes at Teide Observatory on Tenerife (Spain) where most of the scientific observations are performed. KIS offers lectures on astronomy and astrophysics at Freiburg university and trains young scientists.

Picture of the Month

A few weeks ago, KIS delivered the flight unit of the image stabilization unit for the Photospheric and Helioseismic Imager (PHI) of the Solar Orbiter Mission. This was an important milestone for the project, and at the same time it was the first space-qualified instrument that had been developed, built and tested at KIS. In the meantime, and after detailed tests and calibration measurements, PHI was delivered to ESA for integration to the spacecraft.

Read more

Neuigkeiten

As of April 1, 2017, the Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik (KIS) is under new leadership. Prof. Dr. Svetlana Berdyugina, who served as the Deputy Director at KIS since 2008, has been appointed by the KIS Foundation Council as new Director of KIS.

Read more

Latest ChroTel Sun Images

Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik

Das KIS betreibt Grundlagenforschung in der Astronomie und Astrophysik mit besonderem Schwerpunkt in der Sonnenphysik und ist Mitglied der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft. Wir betreiben federführend die Sonnenteleskope im Observatorio del Teide auf Teneriffa, sowie das alte Sonnenobservatorium auf dem Schauinsland bei Freiburg. Ebenso bieten wir Lehrveranstaltungen an der Universität Freiburg und bilden wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs aus.

Bild des Monats

Vor wenigen Wochen hat das KIS das Flight Model der Bildstabilisierungseinheit für den Photospheric and Helioseismic Imager (PHI) der Solar Orbiter Mission abgeliefert. Dies war ein wichtiger Meilenstein in diesem Projekt und zugleich das erste weltraumtaugliche Gerät, das am KIS entwickelt, gebaut und getestet wurde. Inzwischen wurde das PHI Instrument nach umfangreichen Tests und Kalibrationen inklusive der Bildstabilisierungseinheit an die ESA zur Integration auf den Satelliten ausgeliefert.

 

Weiterlesen

Neuigkeiten

Seit dem 1. April 2017 hat das Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik (KIS) eine neue Leitung: Prof. Dr. Svetlana Berdyugina, die seit 2008 das Amt der Stellvertretenden Direktorin innehatte, wurde durch den Stiftungsrat des KIS zur neuen Direktorin ernannt.

Weiterlesen

Neuste ChroTel Sonnenbilder